Vcoderz Community

Vcoderz Community (http://forum.vcoderz.com/index.php)
-   E-Learning Center (http://forum.vcoderz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Linux Commands - You Ask, Linux Users Answer (http://forum.vcoderz.com/showthread.php?t=14208)

HizbullaH 12-15-2008 10:41 AM

Linux Commands - You Ask, Linux Users Answer
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kingroudy (Post 162468)
^^ hizbullah badna tutorial on Ubuntu terminal commands!! 3a zaw2ak, i'll be very thankful. dual boot is easy:P

Hello Khayyi Roudy,
First Of All I Just Want To Correct What You've Said, There Is Nothing Called Ubuntu Terminal Commands :P Their Is Something Called Linux Commands, Or You Can Say Unix Commands :) (Because Plenty Of Commands Are The Same For The Unix-Like Operating Systems Just Like Linux, FreeBSD, MacOS, Etc...)

I Don't Know What To Tell You Because I Don't What Do You Know :P I Will Start With The Very Basic Commands Used In The Terminal!
And Then We Will Answer All The Questions About Commands Asked By Members :D (I Will Answer And Xcoder Will Answer Because I Know He's A Linux User, And Any One Who Knows Will Answer Too :D )

It Is Not Necessary To Ask About Commands Only...

I Will Start With The Commands:

ls: Lists The Files And Folders In The Current Directory
ls -l: Long Listing Of The Files And Folders In The Current Directory With Some Details
pwd (Print Working Directory) : Tells You In Which Directory You Are
touch: Makes A New File (Ex: touch vcoderz.txt)
mkdir: Makes A New Directory (Ex: mkdir vcoderz)
rm: Deletes A File (Ex: rm vcoderz.txt)
rm -rf: Deletes A Folder (Ex: rm -rf vcoderz)
rmdir: Deletes A Folder (Ex: rmdir vcoderz/ rmdir -f vcoderz)
mv: Move Or Rename (Rename Ex: mv vcoderz.txt othername.txt) (Move Ex: mv /home/User/vcoderz.txt /home/User/Desktop/ {It Will Move The File vcoderz.txt to The Desktop Directory} )
cd: To Jump Between Directories In The OS.


There Are Millions Of Commands :P I Can't List Them All :S Just Tell Me What You Need And I'll Tell You What To Use..

Pe@ce

Kingroudy 12-15-2008 05:17 PM

Re: Linux Commands - You Ask, Linux Users Answer
 
made sticky!
about the "first of all", i know that, but i was specific about ubuntu since there might be small changes between one OS and another, and i just wanted to stick to ubuntu.
now thank you for this tutorial of course, we, the linux n00bs, also want (ya3ne 3am nta3bak ma3na :hawhaw: ) some tutorials not necessarily by you about some daily linux tasks, take as example installing a .tar.gz packed application, and how to troubleshoot it.

HizbullaH 12-16-2008 02:30 PM

Re: Linux Commands - You Ask, Linux Users Answer
 
There Is Nothing Called .tar.gz Package, A .tar.gz Is A Compressed File Just Like .zip Or .rar
There Are Many Packaging Systems In Linux Where You Can See The Extension Of The Package .deb Or .rpm, There Are Alot Of RPM Based Linux Just Like Red Hat, Fedora, Suse... You Can Install An RPM Package By Using This Command:
rpm -ivh package-name.rpm

However, Ubuntu, Which Is Based On Debian, Uses The .deb Packages And You Can Install .deb Packages By Using This Command:
dpkg -i package-name.deb

Also Slackware Linux Uses A Different Packaging System And The Extension Of Their Packages Is .gz

Now Let's Go Back To .tar.gz Compressed Files Or Folders..
In Order To Uncompress a .tar.gz File We Need To Use This Command:
tar zxvf file-name.tar.gz

Now The Files And Folders Inside The Compressed Folder Will Be Uncompressed We Need To Get Into This Folder Which Contains The Setup Of A Program For Example.. Usually With Any Program We Need To Setup There Is A File Name README Or INSTALL, You Have To Read The Installation Instructions Before You Install The Program, But Usually The Installation Proccess Done By Three Commands, First Of All Type:
./configure

If It Finishes Without Any Problems Type:
make

And Now As root Type:
make install

If You Got Any Problem Then Their Is A Depenency Library Or Program That You Need To Get, Just Get It From The Internet And Install It In The Same Way Above...

Now To Make Life Easier For Us, I Will Suppose That You Are Using Ubuntu, You Will First (as root) Type (Only For The First Type You Use apt-get):
apt-get update

Then Your Packages Cache Will Be Updated! Now For Example You Want To Install The Apache Web Server On Your Computer And You Want To Know What Is The Package Name Exactly, Type:
apt-cache search apache

Let's Say Thay We Saw apache2 With Some Discription About The Package, To Download And Install It Type:
apt-get install apache2

Now It Will Be Downloaded (With All The Dependencies!) And Will Be Installed Automatically On Your PC!

If You Are Using An RPM Based OS Just Like CentOS Or Fedora... You Need To Use yum (Their Is No apt-get In Them), Nearly The Same (Only For The First Type You Use yum):
yum update

Then:
yum search apache (apache Is an example)

Then:
yum install apache

Also, Everything Will Be Done Automatically!

Other Questions? :D

Genius704 01-28-2009 07:03 AM

Re: Linux Commands - You Ask, Linux Users Answer
 
more more :) please!! ok im taking a class called ethical hacking and network defense, they want us to use linux ubuntu, or linux local area security..i guess?...im running both versions from a cd, i had to use this [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']vga=791 noreplace-paravirt [/FONT][FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']i guess to adjust the resolution to work on my vga.if i want to use the programs the school give us on, for example, linux redhat or any other non GUI linux versions, is it possible? By non GUI i mean no mouse or buttons, ok about the drivers thingy...if i install linux on MS Virtual Machine, and i did but the internet doesnt work, can i configure the nic card...there is no device manager!!!!lol..so that is what im going through, thanks for all your help!![/FONT]

Sheriff Ice 01-29-2009 09:02 AM

Re: Linux Commands - You Ask, Linux Users Answer
 
how to enable the root user for Linux Ubuntu ?!

when i try to install Apache from the terminal window it tells me that i need to be a root ?!

how to do that ?

xcoder 01-29-2009 09:07 AM

Re: Linux Commands - You Ask, Linux Users Answer
 
su root :D

Sheriff Ice 01-29-2009 09:23 AM

Re: Linux Commands - You Ask, Linux Users Answer
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by xcoder (Post 170556)
su root :D

:D:D:D I just discovered it using google :p anyway thx :W:W its working i installed apache 2 and i i will install php and MySQL as soon as i get home :W:W

HizbullaH 02-26-2009 03:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Genius704 (Post 170357)
more more :) please!! ok im taking a class called ethical hacking and network defense, they want us to use linux ubuntu, or linux local area security..i guess?...im running both versions from a cd, i had to use this [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']vga=791 noreplace-paravirt [/font][FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']i guess to adjust the resolution to work on my vga.if i want to use the programs the school give us on, for example, linux redhat or any other non GUI linux versions, is it possible? By non GUI i mean no mouse or buttons, ok about the drivers thingy...if i install linux on MS Virtual Machine, and i did but the internet doesnt work, can i configure the nic card...there is no device manager!!!!lol..so that is what im going through, thanks for all your help!![/font]

Why Do They Want You To Use Ubuntu Linux!? There Is A Linux Distribution Dedicated For Security Called BackTrack And You Can Download It From Here www.remote-exploit.org

With Respect To The Second Part, Just Use VMware Work Station It Is Better Than The MicroZeft Virtual Machine.. MicroZeft And WinToz SUX Bro :D

Or The Network Drivers Are Installed In Your Virtual Machine And You Didn't Know How To Configure It..

Type In Your Terminal:
:~$ ifconfig
Then Your Network Interfaces Will Be Listed, The First Network Card Interface Will Be "eth0"

If It Is Found, Here Is How To Configure Your Network (As Root):
:~$ ifconfig eth0 up 10.20.30.40 netmask 255.255.255.0
:~$ route add default gw 10.10.30.1
:~$ echo nameserver 10.20.30.1 >> /etc/resolv.conf

Where: 10.20.30.40 Is The IP Address You Want To Put For Your Computer And 10.20.30.1 Is Your Gateway IP Address And The Second One Is Your DNS IP

If You Are Taking Internet Connection From A DHCP Server Simply Type:

:~$ dhclient eth0
Or
:~$ dhcpcd

HizbullaH 02-26-2009 04:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sheriff Ice (Post 170555)
how to enable the root user for Linux Ubuntu ?!

when i try to install Apache from the terminal window it tells me that i need to be a root ?!

how to do that ?

Sorry For Being Toooooooooooooooo Late For Replying :D
To Install Any Program Under Linux You Have To Have The Privileges Of The root User, Or You Have To Be In The SUdoers
To Switch To Root User In The Terminal Simply Type (As Dany Said):
:~$ su
Then Type The root Password

If You Don't Have The Root Password, But You Are In The SUdoers Simply Type:
:~$ sudo su
And Put YOUR Password, And You Will Be root
And You Can Run Any Command As Root Without Logging In To The Root User Simply:
:~$ sudo [any command without the brackets]
But Note That You Have To Be In The SUdoers

SysTaMatIcS 02-26-2009 04:39 PM

post pics about linux and how it works :D
i only know that it doesnt have the "start" button .
what else?


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger